How a DUI Can Impact Your Nursing License in California?
While the human drive to care for others and provide help in a time of crisis has been around long before hospitals and doctors’ offices existed, nurses have never been more critical than they are today. Nurses play an increasingly crucial role in today’s society, not just by providing care, but also in the administrative side of healthcare. Nurses not only help individuals, but they’re also at the forefront of change in healthcare and public health. As a result of the importance of the role, however, any arrest or conviction comes with severe consequences.
In California, an arrest for driving under the influence may significantly impact your nursing career. If you’re a nurse who’s been arrested for DUI and are worried about the implications this mistake may have on your ability to earn a living, you’ve come to the right place. At the Aron Law Firm, our team has experience helping others in your position. We’ll do everything in our power to protect your license and help you avoid the administrative consequences that stem from this offense. Contact us today to learn how we may be able to protect your rights.
The 30-Day Rule for Self-Reporting a DUI Conviction in California
In a standard DUI case, the defendant typically only needs to consider the criminal charges. However, registered nurses need to jump an extra hurdle that includes potential penalties from the California Board of Registered Nursing (BRN).
It’s important to note that you’re fingerprinted when you’re arrested for a DUI, and the BRN will immediately receive notice of the arrest. Because the BRN will already be notified, you’re not required to reach out and inform them of your arrest. However, if you’re convicted, you have 30 days to report it to the BRN.
California’s Voluntary Diversion Program for Nurses
After the BRN has been informed of your arrest through the judicial system, they’ll send you a letter that gives you the option to participate in the voluntary Diversion program. This program is designed to help those who are struggling with substance abuse. If you decide to utilize this program, note that your license will be deactivated. However, the program is voluntary, and you don’t have to enter into the program unless you want to.
How to Disclose Your Conviction to the California Board of Registered Nursing
If you’ve been convicted of driving under the influence, you must report your conviction to the BRN within 30 days. The approach you take when disclosing the information, however, may be tactically approached to give you the best chance at retaining your license and keeping your career on track. That’s why hiring a professional license defense lawyer from the Aron Law Firm should be your top priority. Our team will frame your situation in the best possible light. In the best-case scenario, you’ll only receive a fine and citation.
If the BRN recommends that the deputy attorney general review your case, an “Accusation” will be filed against your nursing license. At this point, the BRN may call for your nursing license to be revoked. Acquiring the help of a knowledgeable attorney with experience at these hearings will be instrumental. They may be able to negotiate for reduced discipline, which may ultimately allow you to keep your license. Facing a conviction for DUI isn’t a guarantee that you’ll lose your California nursing license, so it’s crucial that you help yourself by securing a legal advocate early on in the process.
Contact a Professional License Defense Lawyer at The Aron Law Firm
If you’re a nurse who’s been arrested for DUI and are worried about how this will affect your career, it’s imperative that you reach out to the skilled lawyers at the Aron Law Firm today. Our team has the knowledge and expertise to protect your rights and help you sidestep any consequences associated with this offense, both statutory and administrative. We thoroughly understand California DUI laws and have experience helping others in your shoes.
For any additional questions about driving under the influence charges in California and how this may affect your career, reach out to our California DUI defense lawyers as soon as possible. To speak with a best-in-class criminal defense attorney, schedule a consultation by calling (805) 500-7745 or completing our online contact form today.