What is the Duty to Report a DUI for Medical Professionals?
Whenever a driver gets behind the wheel of a vehicle, they have a duty to make a reasonable effort to remain alert and safe on the roads. When a person is under the influence of drugs or alcohol, they are unable to carry out that duty of care for themselves and other drivers. Driving under the influence is not only dangerous, but it is also illegal. Despite the danger and legal issue surrounding driving while intoxicated, the CDC has reported that there are still over a million drivers arrested for DUIs in the United States each year.
The experienced criminal defense lawyers of Aron Law Firm have seen how a DUI charge can negatively impact a person’s life. For medical professionals, being arrested for a DUI can mean the end of their careers. While this type of charge can have serious repercussions, medical professionals do have a duty to report a DUI.
What is the Duty to Report DUIs for Doctors or Physician Assistants?
All doctors, surgeons, or physician assistants in California have a duty to report criminal convictions including DUIs. Under California Business and Professions Code 802.1, it is stated that doctors, surgeons, osteopathic physicians and surgeons, doctors of podiatric medicine, and physician assistants any of the following to the entity that issued their license to practice:
- The bringing of an indictment or information charging a felony against the licensee
- The conviction of the licensee, including any verdict of guilty, or plea of guilty or no contest, of any felony or misdemeanor
They have a duty to report this information within 30 days of the conviction or indictment. If they fail to report their arrest or conviction, they will face a fine of up to $5,000. Even if the licensee was charged with a misdemeanor for a first-time offense DUI, they still must report this within 30 days. Another important note is that because medical professionals must report indictments under this law, that means that even if the doctor was never convicted they must still report the DUI arrest.
Do Nurses Have to Report a DUI in California?
Nurses are also required to report any DUI conviction. They must report these convictions to the California Board of Registered Nursing. Whenever a nurse’s license is renewed, they must report any convictions since the last time the license was renewed, even if the convictions took place in another state or country.
Contact a California DUI Lawyer for Help
If you are a medical professional who has recently been arrested for a DUI, your career may be on the line if you do not seek the help of an experienced DUI lawyer. Do not risk losing your job, license, or practice. Contact a California DUI lawyer as soon as possible to help with your case.
Aron Law Firm is a top-rated California law firm with experience helping clients who have been charged with a DUI. We are passionate about helping our clients pursue the second chance they deserve by providing them with dedicated representation and trusted legal services. To schedule a case review, contact us here or call (805) 500-7745.