With rideshare options like Uber and Lyft increasing in popularity in California, lawmakers push legislation to create more restrictions and regulations on drunk driving. As of July 1st, 2018, drivers in Santa Barbara who drive for rideshare companies are subject to the same legal standards as other commercial drivers.
If you have been accused of drunk driving while in the operation of an Uber, Lyft, taxi, or limousine in Santa Barbara, contact an Aron Law Firm criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. Regardless of the number of prior DUI offenses, it is vital that you speak with a criminal defense attorney who has experience handling DUI cases in California. An experienced DUI lawyer will understand what it takes to mitigate your charges and defend your case effectively.
Have You Been Arrested in Santa Barbara for Driving an Uber or Lyft Vehicle While Intoxicated?
Although driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is illegal in all fifty states, California has some of the strictest regulations for intoxicated driving. With the implementation of new California laws protecting passengers, drivers for rideshare companies — such as Uber or Lyft — will be subject to strict drunk driving laws.
California Traffic Code 23152(e) prohibits operating a vehicle for a rideshare company, taxi service, or limousine business while under the influence of any alcoholic beverage, regardless of blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level.
Under this new law, Uber, Lyft, and other rideshare app drivers in Santa Barbara are treated the same as commercial drivers when driving while intoxicated. Therefore, drivers will now face serious charges if they get behind the wheel with a BAC of 0.04 or higher when transporting a passenger for hire.
Penalties Uber and Lyft Drivers Could Face for a DUI in Santa Barbara, California
A conviction for a DUI in California will remain in your driving history for the next ten years. In California, those with DUI charges will suffer limitations in future career, housing, and financial opportunities. Not only will their reputation suffer, but they are at risk of facing harsh legal consequences. For first time offenders, the minimum penalties for driving while intoxicated as a rideshare driver in Santa Barbara include:
- Up to six months in county jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Driver’s license suspension for up to 6 months
- Completion of a 3-month alcohol education program
- Community service
- Life-long status as a convicted felon
- Restitution payment to victims
In Santa Barbara, DUI convictions are “priorable,” which means that each subsequent penalty conviction within ten years will face even more severe punishments like state imprisonment. At Aron Law Firm, we have extensive experience challenging California DUI charges. We are familiar with the unique defenses that only apply in DUI cases against cab, limousine, and rideshare drivers, including that your passenger was not a paying customer.
Legal Representation for Rideshare Drivers Arrested for Drunk Driving in Santa Barbara
An Aron Law Firm lawyer will navigate you through the entire legal process and can answer any question you might have regarding your case. We have years of experience and are familiar with intoxication and ridesharing laws in California. Our criminal defense team creates robust defense strategies for rideshare drivers facing charges for DUIs in Santa Barbara.
When you partner with our firm, we will begin building your defense strategy right away because we are adamant about getting a positive outcome in all of our clients’ cases. Contact us today by calling (805) 500-7745 or completing our convenient contact form.